Sep 22, 2022

2022 MBP Retreat a Success!

The first in-person Medical Biophysics (MBP) Retreat in three years was held from Monday, September 19 to Wednesday, September 21 at Campfire Circle Muskoka on beautiful Lily Lake. The three-day event brought MBP students and faculty members together to engage in meaningful knowledge-sharing activities in a relaxed and bucolic setting.

Approximately 150 MBP graduate students and 30 MBP faculty participated in the 2022 event, which featured opportunities for MBP students and faculty to network, learn more about the MBP Graduate program and engage in team-building and social activities.

Throughout the three days, MBP-focused research presentations were provided by:

Additionally, the event featured a ‘rotations market’ aimed at connecting new MBP students with recruiting MBP labs. A number of MBP faculty participated, showcasing their research to first year students who are in the process of determining labs for their second and third rotations.

The MBP Retreat also featured a very special MBP Awards ceremony.

Walker-Marshall Prize

The award is given to a student who has completed a PhD in the Department during the past year or is expected to have completed the PhD by December of this year. It recognizes a combination of academic excellence, scientific impact from thesis work and participation in and contribution to the culture, student life and student welfare in the Department.

The 2022 Walker-Marshall award was awarded to Dr. Timothy Samuel.

MBP PhD Achievement Award

These awards recognize three PhD students (applied, basic and translational) for outstanding academic achievements, annually. Selection criteria are based on the overall quality of students’ PhD theses, with a specific focus on publications, patents, development of devices/methods, contributions to clinical practice and knowledge translation.

The 2022 MBP PhD Achievement Award recipients:

  • Dr. Rui Xu and Dr. Yohan Yee (Applied)
  • Dr. Hui Guo (Basic)
  • Dr. Parasvi Patel (Translational)

Education Awards

As part of a new student-led initiative, two special awards were presented to outstanding MBP faculty as selected by MBP students.

Dr. Norman Iscove received the Excellence in Teaching Award in recognition of his significant contributions to graduate student education within the Department.

Dr. Kamil Uludag was awarded the Excellence in Mentorship Award in recognition of his exceptional dedication to graduate student development & continued commitment to mentorship within the Department.

Special thanks to all participants and event organizers for making the 2022 MBP Retreat a success!

Learn more about the MBP retreat.