Awards and Scholarships

person at microscope

Students of the Medical Biophysics program are elligible to apply for consideration to a number of awards and scholarships offered by various agencies.

Below you will find links to information about available awards, scholarships and associated application deadlines. 

Available Awards and Application Deadlines

  1. Application deadline: Monday, August 31, 2020
    Online submission plus official transcripts to Chau Dang, PMCRT 15-707
  2. CGS Doctoral Awards (CIHR / NSERC)
    Application Deadline: Friday, September 18, 2020
    Electronic application submission due September 20th, 3:00 pm.  Submit official transcripts for upload to Annette Chan (Downtown students), Donna-Marie Pow (Uptown students).
  3. SGS Conference Grant
  4. CGS Masters Awards (CIHR / NSERC)
    Application deadline: December 1, 2020
    Electronic application submission to CIHR ResearchNet closes for students on December 1, 2020, 8:00 PM
  5. Ontario Women's Health Scholar Award
    Application deadline: TBA
    Submit completion application to Chau Dang, PMCRT 15-707
  6. OGS (VISA Students) 2020-21
    Application deadline: Monday, March 1, 2021
    Submit application to MBP office.
  7. OGS (Domestic Students) 2020-21
    Application deadline: Friday, March 26, 2021
    Online submission only. Paper copy to MBP office is not required.
  8. Faculty of Medicine QEII-GSST
    Application deadline: TBA - Typically end of March.
    Online Faculty of Medicine Cover Page
  9. SGS Internal Awards
    Application deadline: May 2022
  10. Faculty of Medicine OSOTF and Restricted Awards 2020-21
    Application deadline: May 2022

Links to Award/Scholarship Information by Agency

The following agencieds sponsor scholarships, awards and bursaries available to MBP graduate students. Please visit these pages for more information:

MBP PhD Achievement Award

The purpose of this prize is to recognize three PhD students (basic, applied and translational) for outstanding academic achievements, annually. Selection criteria are based on the overall quality of students’ PhD theses, with a specific focus on publications, patents, development of devices/methods, contributions to clinical practice and knowledge translation.

Outstanding students should be nominated by their exam committee at the time of their PhD defense (see attached nomination form). Award winners will be selected from all nominated candidates spanning a 12-months period prior to the deadline (August 31st of each year) by the awards committee (Anne Martel, Chuck Cunningham, John Sled, Razq Hakem, Stanley Liu, Thomas Kislinger).

The award, together with a certificate and $2,000 cash prize, will be presented at the annual Departmental Retreat at Geneva Park.

Candidates nominated by their exam committee are expected to send their CV, highlighting specific academic achievements, to the MBP office. The CVs together with the nomination forms will be used by the awards committee to select the top candidate in each category.

Walker/Marshall Prize

This prize was created to honour the memories of Conrad Walker (1973-1997) and Raymond Marshall (1959-1993), two talented young scientists who died tragically while graduate students in Medical Biophysics.

The purpose of this prize is to recognize a Medical Biophysics student whose work and achievements are judged to be both outstanding in their own right and representative of the ideals and culture of the Department. Criteria include: uniqueness and significance of academic work, publication record and contribution to student life and culture of Medical Biophysics  Only students in the final year* of their PhD studies will be considered.

The award, together with a certificate and $2,000 cash prize, is made at the annual Departmental Retreat at Geneva Park.

Nominations for the Walker-Marshall Prize should include a strong letter of support from the supervisor (co-signed by all members of the supervisory committee) and a copy of the student’s curriculum vitae.

*The student should expect to graduate in the same academic year that the prize is awarded.

Walker-Marshall Award Recipients

2019 Dr. Sasha Doodnauth
2018 Dr. Erin Stewart
2017 Dr. Justin Lau
2016 Dr. Melanie Morrison
2015 Dr. Diana Merino
2014 Dr. Shawn Stapleton
2013 Dr. Alison Aiken
2012 Dr. Megan Barker
2011 Dr. Megan Nelles
2010 Dr. Jelena Tomic
2009 Dr. Karla Badger-Brown
2008 Dr. Jay Detsky
2007 Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai
2006 Dr. Carlo Hojilla
2005 Dr. Brad MacIntosh
2004 Dr. Lynn Wong
2003 Dr. Thaddeus David Allen
2002 Dr. Russell Jones
2001 Dr. Blair Szymczyna
2000 Dr. Valerie Notenboom
1999 Dr. Nina Jones
1998 Dr. Mary-Claire Kavanagh